Daily GS Foundation MCQs - SthaapnaIAS Previous Year QuestionsModern India Previous Year QuestionsStaapana - March 2019Sthaapana - March 2019 - Week 1

IAS Previous Year Modern India Questions – Lecture – 16 – STHAAPNA Series

WpProQuiz 173]


Q. Where was the First Session of the Indian National Congress held in December 1885?  [2008]

(a) Ahmedabad

(b) Bombay

(c) Calcutta

(d) Delhi

Q. Four resolutions were passed at the famous Calcutta session of Indian National Congress in 1906. The question of either retention OR of rejection of these four resolutions became the cause of a split in Congress at the next Congress session held in Surat in 1907. Which one of the following was not one of those resolutions ? [2010]

(a) Annulment of partition of Bengal

(b) Boycott

(c) National education

(d) Swadeshi

Q. Consider the following statements:

  1. The First Session of the Indian National Congress was held in Calcutta
  2. The Second Session of the Indian National Congress was held under the president ship of Dadabhai Naoroji
  3. Both Indian National Congress and Muslim League held their sessions at Lucknow in 1916 and concluded the Lucknow Pact

Which of the statements given above is/are correct? [2004]

(a)1 and 2

(b)2 only

(c)2 and 3

(d) 3 only

Q. Who among the following leaders proposed to adopt Complete Independence as the goal of the Congress in the Ahmedabad session of 1920 ? [2001]

(a) Abdul Kalam Azad

(b) Hasrat Mohani

(c) Jawaharlal Lal Nehru

(d) Mohandas Karamchand Gandhi

Q. The 1929 Session of Indian National Congress is of significance in the history of the Freedom Movement because the-   [2014]

(a) Attainment of Self-Government was declared as the objective of the Congress

(b) Attainment of Poorna Swaraj was adopted as the goal of the Congress

(c) Non-Cooperation Movement was launched

(d) Decision to participate in the Round Table Conference in London was taken

Q. At which Congress session was the working committee authorized to launch a programme of Civil Disobedience? [2005]



(c) Lucknow

(d) Tripura

Q. Under whose presidency was the Lahore session of the Indian Congress held in the year 1929, wherein a resolution was adopted to gain complete independence from the British? [2006]

(a) Bal Gangadhar Tilak

(b) Gopal Krishna Gokhale

(c) Jawaharlal Nehru

(d) Motilal Nehru

Q. The Lahore Session of the Indian National Congress (1929) is very important in history, because:  [2012]

  1. The Congress passed a resolution demanding complete independence
  2. The rift between the extremists and moderates was resolved in that Session
  3. A resolution was passed rejecting the two-nation theory in that Session

Which of the statements given above is/are correct?

(a) 1 only

(b) 2 and 3

(c) 1 and 3

(d) None of the above

Q. For the Karachi session of Indian National Congress in 1931 presided over by Sardar Patel, who drafted the Resolution on Fundamental Rights and Economic Programme? [2005,2010]

(a)Mahatma Gandhi

(b)Pandit Jawaharlal Nehru

(c) Dr. Rajendra Prasad

(d) Dr. B.R. Ambedkar

Q. With reference to the Indian freedom struggle, which one of the following statements is not correct? [2003]

(a) The Rowlatt Act aroused a wave of popular indignation and led to the Jalianwalla Bagh massacre

(b) Subhash Chandra Bose formed the Forward Bloc

(c) Bhagat Singh was one of the founders of Hindustan Republican Socialist Association

(d) In 1931, the Congress Session at Karachi opposed the Gandhi-Irwin Pact

Q. While delivering the presidential address, the Congress President who advocated the introduction of Roman script for Hindi language was:   [2000]

(a) Mahatma Gandhi

(b) Jawaharlal Nehru

(c) Abul Kalam Azad

(d) Subhash Chandra Bose

Related Articles